CCOD

The Canadian Consortium for Ocean Drilling (CCOD) is a consortium composed of Canadian universities and government agencies formed to facilitate Canada's participation in IODP.

The CCOD has the following objectives:

  • Advocate and encourage Canadian participation in IODP and ECORD
  • Develop proposals and applications for IODP funding
  • Help the community to develop proposals and applications for IODP expeditions
  • Represent the Canadian community on IODP and ECORD committees and panels
  • Provide advice and guidance to the IODP-Canada Secretariat concerning the management of Canada's participation in IODP
  • Disseminate IODP and ECORD information to the Canadian community and public
  • Organize Canadian outreach and training activities, such as summer schools, lecture tours, port calls, and workshops

The CCOD directly supports the operational costs associated with IODP participation and planning for long-term, stable funding for Canadian IODP membership through an annual membership fee.  Membership in the CCOD is open to all Canadian universities, government agencies and industry groups with a commitment to Canada's participation in the IODP.

CCOD Terms of Reference - January 2012

Members of the Canadian Consortium for Ocean Drilling (with names and contacts of representatives):

UQAM Anne de Vernal devernal.anne@uqam.ca Web
Brock University Martin Head mhead@brocku.ca Web
MUN (Newfoundland) Duncan McIlroy dmcilroy@mun.ca Web
MUN (Newfoundland) John W. Jamieson jjamieson@mun.ca Web
UQAR Guillaume St-Onge guillaume_st-onge@uqar.ca Web
Université Laval Réjean Hébert Rejean.Hebert@ggl.ulaval.ca Web
University of Alberta Doug Schmitt dschmitt@ualberta.ca Web
University of Victoria Kathy Gillis1 kgillis@uvic.ca Web
University of British Columbia Dominique Weis2 dweis@eos.ubc.ca Web
University of Ottawa Mark Hannington Mark.Hannington@uottawa.ca Web
University of Toronto Uli Wortmann uli.wortmann@utoronto.ca Web
University of Western Ontario Neil Banerjee neil.banerjee@uwo.ca Web
Dalhousie University Markus Kienast3 markus.kienast@dal.ca Web
Natural Resources Canada Calvin Campbell4 calvin.campbell@nrcan.gc.ca Web

 

CCOD Executive Committee Member

1 ECORD Council Alternate
2 ECORD Council Delegate, ESSAC Delegate & ECORD Facility Board Member
3 ESSAC Alternate
4 IODP Science Evaluation Panel Member

Please visit our People page for more information about members of the CCOD.